top of page
  • Writer's pictureMeg

Barbie Birthday Party

Updated: Mar 4, 2022

When my soon-to-be 4 year old told me that she wanted a Barbie birthday party, I think I might have been more excited than she was. I was a huge Barbie doll lover as a little girl and I was excited that the time had finally come that my daughter was into them too. Not to mention, I assumed that planning and finding Barbie birthday party supplies would be quick and easy.


Well, I'm here to tell you...that was incorrect. I was able to find plenty of Barbie mermaid decor but that was it. Everything else seemed to be non existent. I'm not sure why this is, but the bottom line was I had to get creative! (Note: this was a quarantine Barbie birthday party, so I didn't go all out like I usually do).


The first place I looked for cute (and affordable) Barbie party decorations for my kids' parties is Amazon! I found this beautiful backdrop to use behind her present table which was covered in a gorgeous sparkly, pink table cover. These types of tables are somewhat sheer, so I would advise using a disposable pink table cloth underneath that you can pick up from your local dollar store.



The life size Barbie box was a last minute addition, but proof that it doesn't take much effort, and if you plan ahead you can get even more detailed. The Barbie logo is just cut out from paper with a Cricut. Check Esty or ask a friend to do this part for you! My husband taped the top flaps of the box up to make it taller, cut out the shape and spray painted the entire box pink. We only bought one can of spray paint, but I would recommend getting two, because we didn't get the full coverage we wanted.





















This was my first attempt at a Barbie doll cake and I have to say the cake pan and the cake decorating tool made ALL the difference. I am not a baker and definitely not skilled in cake decorating, so if I can pull this off, so can you! I also used a Barbie that has the permanent clothing on top so that if she got cake on her, it wouldn't mess up her clothing. I wrapped her legs in saran wrap to keep her clean. Also probably best to use a Barbie doll who has her hair tied up to avoid getting hair in your cake! Ew! I kept the table setting simple with a sequin table runner, some fun iridescent plates and Barbie party favors on top!














I purchased all of these Barbies at Target and I love how they have so many diverse Barbies. My daughter loved their clothes! The stands are from Amazon and were a great way to use her Barbies are part of the decorations! I think getting creative for our Barbie themed party made this even more fun!


Gift ideas:

Commentaires


bottom of page